Thank you for visiting The squad proudly contains three Olympians, a Commonwealth Games champion, Stawell gift winner, Australian junior and senior representatives, National Champions and multiple NSW and Victorian Gift winners.

Please send an email to for all coaching enquires but make sure you check back into this website for updated information, results and insights.



2017-18 MBD Squad

MattyB DEPT MBD orange font

Season 2017-18 begins this Saturday 7th October and it gives me great pleasure to announce the MattyB DEPT. (MBD) squad for this season. There are some additional athletes that will be named later in the year when they officially commence.

Limited spots are available please email for more information.

The squad contains athletes aspiring for selection in the 2018 Commonwealth Games, 2018 World Masters, 2018 World Juniors, National Senior and Junior Medals, Gift Victories and of course numerous PB’s.

Good luck to the entire squad

MBD Elite Ambassadors (Elite Athletes & Assistant Coaches in MBD squads)

MBD Elite Athletes (Achieved Elite Standards age 17+)

MBD Senior Squad (Athletes aged 18+)

MBD Development Squad (Athletes aged under 18)

  • Molly Sturgiss*
  • Clare de Salis
  • Kobe O’Neall
  • Holly Abbey
  • Matt King
  • Freya Dadswell
  • Chloe Smith
  • Chandler Leydon

* Athlete has achieved their age elite standard and therefore tracking towards MBD elite squad selection from age 17+

MBD – MattyB’s FIT4FUN Junior Squads (Athletes aged 8-15)

For athletes who wish to do 1 or 2 sessions per week. Limited places available check website for more details.

Official S & C Coaches –

  • MBD Squad – Scott Smith, Melissa Breen, MattyB
  • Lauren Wells & Josh Clarke – Ross Smith
  • Melissa Breen – MattyB

Official squad therapist – Myogen (Performance.Movement.Therapy)

Please contact them 02 5105 4109 or for Soft tissue therapy, sports massage, remedial massage, strength & conditioning and myofascial dry needling for active people in ACT and NSW.

Congratulations to the following athletes from within the squad have also been recognised on NASS, Gold Coast Gold Relay programs or ACT Target Talent Programs (TTP)

  • Josh Clarke (NASS and Relay), Lauren Wells (Relay), Melissa Breen (Relay), Molly Sturgiss (TTP), Tom Agnew (TTP)



Farlow and Stefaniak win Gold at World Masters

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 5.09.36 pm.png

It was a dominant display from Adam Farlow at the World Masters Games in New Zealand over the past week.

Competing in the 30–34 year age group Farlow will return to Australia with a medal tally of 6 Gold and 1 silver.

  • 100m Gold
  • 200m Gold
  • 400m Gold
  • 4 x 100m relay Gold
  • 4 x 400m relay Gold
  • High Jump Gold
  • Long Jump Silver

Fellow MBD squad member Jonathan Stefaniak also came away with Gold in the relay team with Adam Farlow.

To top of results both men were part of the Australian team that smashed the Australian (age 30-34) record in the 4 x 400m relay. Farlow also anchored the 4 x 100m relay to another Australian (age 30-34) record.

Huge congratulations from all in the squad for an amazing way to finish the season.

Bring on #StawellGift 2017

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 9.57.29 pm.png

The MBD will be proudly represented by the following athletes at Stawell this year.

  • Melissa Breen
  • Lauren Wells
  • Sarah Blizzard
  • Rachael Carnegie
  • Clare de Salis
  • Courtney Leary
  • Chris Gates
  • Chloe Smith
  • Brendan Matthews
  • Jonathan Stefaniak
  • Leigh Bennett
  • Noah Geleris
  • Vicki Matthews
  • Kev Matthews

The Stawell Gift will be live on Channel 7 from 11.30am – 2.30pm on Easter Monday.

Good Luck to all.

16 Titles at #AACT17 for MBD


The squad has taken advantage of the conditions to post some amazing results over the past 3 days at the AACT Championships for 2017 Clare de Salis and Molly Sturgiss lead the way for the MBD Squad with 3 Gold medals each over the weekend.

Clare took the 100m,200m and 400m treble in the under 18’s while Molly Sturgiss ran PB in all her events to claim the ACT title in the 200m Hurdles, 200m and 400m.

Adam Farlow and Melissa Breen took the honours as fastest ACT athletes in the Open 100m and 200m. Farlow at age 34 ran a new PB in the 100m with 10.94 (heat and final time).  Tom Agnew also took the 100m (10.87PB) and 200m double in the Under 20 age group.

The squad won the ACT title in the open Men’s and Womens 400m with Jonathan Stefaniak and Lauren Wells both running season bests to win.

Lauren also took out the Women’s 400m Hurdles title.

Matt King won the Under 18 400m title and also ran a PB in the 200m.

It was a fantastic weekend for the squad and a huge thank you to Scott Smith for his therapy over the 3 days.

Well done to ACT Athletics for a well run Championships.

Blizzard wins 2017 Ballarat Open 70m

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Congratulations to Sarah Blizzard for taking out the Open 70m at the Ballarat Gift weekend.

After strong wins in her heat and semi final Sarah maintained her winning ways to take out the final in a strong time of 7.50 off 12.25m.

Sarah also made her way into the final off the Women’s 120m Mars Gift. Running off 4.25m she finished 5th to top off a huge weekend of racing.

She will next run at Stonnington Gift where she finished second last year.

Noah Geleris also made a successful return to racing which was very pleasing running in the 70m and 120m Open Gift.

World Best for Lauren Wells

IMG_6786.PNGToday in Canberra, 2 time Olympian, Lauren Wells achieved an unofficial “World Best” for the Women’s 200m Hurdles (bend). Running over 10 hurdles Lauren finished with a time of 25.79 (-0.6w). Full Results 

Screen Shot 2017-01-21 at 10.33.24 pm.png

The previous “World Best” with electronic timing was held by Patricia Girard who ran 25.82 (+1.7w) in Nantes, France on 22nd September 1999.

Footage of the race is also available

2017 Merimbula Gift

The MBD Squad started 2017 with a bang with some fantastic result from those who made the trek to Merimbula.

This was the second running of the Merimbula Gift and the squad now boasts an impressive DoubleDouble with Courtney Leary taking out the Open 70m following on from Kayla Sadler who won the 2016 edition. Add to this Jonathan Stefaniak who followed the footsteps of Christine Gates (2016 winner) to take out the Vets / Women’s 120m event.

These two victories led the way but we also had some great additional results including:

  • Jonathan Stefaniak – Runner Up 120m Novice, 4th 300m Open Final
  • Courtney Leary – 4th Women’s / Vets 120m
  • Freya Dadswell – 6th in Women’s / Vets 120m and 120m Novice
  • Luke Storta – 3rd in 120m Gift Semi Final

Congratulations to everyone.